• Thank you friends readers and passers-by for your continuous support to my blog. I will not be able to update often now and many articles and short story left hanging in the draft box due to the pressure of time lately but nevertheless I am trying to cope with it and will post few as time goes by.

    Pleasant day and have a good life.

    Love

    Sanaa

    Good things come to those who wait.
    Better things come to those who try.
    Best things come to those who believe.
    Desired things come to those who pray.

    "Islamic Thinking"

    A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.
    Lao Tzu

  • Archives

Books n Books

Why do we read? What is the benefits of reading?

In any walks of life books is our walking reference sometimes and somehow or other we have read at least one book in our life. Books is our companion when we are in school and books also is our companion as we journey through life. Reading gave us benefits on knowledge and in our daily interactions with people around us. There are many benefits from reading including stimulate our mind and active thinking. I go through my childhood life with books as far as I can remember, from an alphabet, numbers, pictures book and until I can read followed by all the classics of Robin Hood, Black Beauty, Robinson Crusoe and many more. Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, is the teenager reading material and other reading materials was actually force on us by our father. We have collections of them and I started reading all the romance novel by mills and boons, few from Sidney Sheldon, thriller by Agatha Cristie, classics by Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, Jane Eyre in my early years of secondary school. I love it than and honestly it goes down immediately after my form five exams. I switch my interest and hobby to needle work, sewing and gardening and my choices of books evolve around it. Reading will only be the choice if I am in no mood to sew and the weather is to hot for me to do the gardening. Looking and browsing in a bookstore is my favourite up till now and I can just get myself lost between the racks.

I love be in the bookstore and going in will end up me buying one or two books but to really start reading it and finish it between certain period is s challenge to me now days. Not like before I will sit and read until I finish the book even my mother have to yell sometimes if I did not do what she wants me to do. I am actually asking myself everyday why did I lose interest in reading? did I have no patience anymore or I am just to lazy. Even having this blog does not get me into reading like before. I will read for the purpose of my writing, I still browse my collections and my father collections to get ideas and facts and it is actually frustrate me many times not getting to the habit all over again. There are books I bought two years ago nicely wrap but I did not read it until now.

I try not to miss any book fair because at this fair we can have a good bargain on the price. I think the prices going up now and make me wonder and will keep on wondering how are we going to encourage the nations to read. Even reading material for children is on the high side and we need to buy more for them. I am sure most parents really need to budget the household expenses for everything. Our government promotes many things for the nation, “cuti-cuti Malaysia”, “belillah barangan Malaysia”, “tabiat membaca” and many more that I am not able to recall and if we look carefully at all those slogans it remains as slogan because nothing we can do about it. At the end of the day we are responsible on our expenses and if a children books cost between RM35 to RM40 the middle-income group will think twice whether to get two or three or just get one. It might not mean a lot to someone who has an extra money or who has money but for those who have and careful of their spending need to think about paying that much. Is that the reason we see more people in KFC, McDonald’s, Burger King and not in a bookstore? Meal is important even books is equal important but no so important.

My father was a teacher and one of few things he told us before is we travel everywhere we want by reading. Know the world through your reading and maybe later on experience the journey in real. There are also two type of student, one who read and study because they want to pass the exam and another one who read and study because they want to know and have knowledge. Through his experienced as a teacher not many belongs to the second group especially who is in the Malay school because however smart a student is everything needs to cultivate. We can’t leave the student by themselves just because they are smart because smart student always have discipline problem. Their mind always working extra miles and with books they can just do wonders. Many things that my father said during that time I just push aside because my siblings and I thought is just a joke from him until one day he was transfer to a Malay stream school with all kinds of background and I am sure nobody believe me that education ministry actually not giving attention to this kind of schools or even the education department of the state.

They have library but no books. Many of the books taken and not returned and if it return it is actually thorn. With some effort the teachers and my father try to get books from a foundation who donates book for schools. I involved in the mission and one day the school received ten boxes of books equal to more than 1000 books of many kinds for primary school readings. I father showed a real life situation at that time where most of them never see that many books in their life. They keep on receiving books from time to time and my siblings and I benefits from it to when some of the reading materials does not mean for a primary school and we are able to borrow before it returned to the foundation or sent to secondary school. Now in his mid 70’s my father still read although he does not buy anymore books on his own but will get any of us to buy if he comes across a book review in the newspaper. Whether we like it or not books is valuable and during my childhood and grown up years and still depend on our parents, magazine is totally out of the question especially the entertainment magazine. I never own even one of local magazine and even not allowed to see it when we are in stores. Hahaha I started to read and go through line by line because of Nur Kasih and asking myself what is it actually got into me? People change and things change I suppose but as long as I know where to draw the line it is still ok isn’t it?

Having nieces and nephews makes me admire books more because they are colorful, with beautiful design and layout, shapes and many artwork for children books. They loves being in the bookstore and at times we do give them chances to choose their own choices. The children classics still there i.e Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White with colorful costumes and big print. I can engross myself in it let alone the children. How could people does not fall in love with books? I must admit I am not a book-worm but I do loves books, whether I read it or not is another matter but I will have them. It is not good in some ways but hopefully I’ll get back to my reading habit again soon. I stopped myself buying novels today in an exhibition because I have this guilty feeling buying and keeping it in the bookshelves.

Over the years I also lost many books to friends and families. They came to the house and borrowed at the end never returned. It is actually sad because some of them are collections and some of them I bought during my traveling and that include my cd’s collections of the old movies. The reprint is not the same and I am stingy now and let them think whatever they want. My simple advice here keep your collections private on everything because we will never know when we need them especially books.

Again…why do we read? Attached there are articles about reading with hope it will benefit us in our journey through life. Have a good weekend dear friends and readers….

***************************************************************************************

For many, reading has many benefits that continue to enhance their lives. Their lives are bettered in some the following ways: mentally, spiritually and sociality. Also, if we develop a habit reading will we become more confident and self-assured in abilities to comprehend and understand all types of information. Let’s further look at some of the benefits of reading.

One of the other main benefits of reading is that it exercises your mind. Your mind begins to bend and flex mentally, It stays lose and limber so to you can flow easier through the course of the day. The regular routine ensures that the reading muscle stays in good shape as well as the mind. Just like physical exercise, there has to be a determination to make reading part of your life. If you understand the many benefits of reading, you will have no trouble adapting a regular habit of reading.

Reading has other benefits to the regular reader the ability to focus. When the mind is trained and channeled, it begins to pay attention more thoroughly. For example, when you are faced with some of life’s difficult and challenging assignments, you will have the ability to stay calm and objectively look at the problem, circumstances or required task. If you continue to read, you continue to stay focused; bottom line.

There is perhaps no greater avenue to learning then through reading. All people, great and small, have learned more things by reading then practically anywhere other way. When we continue to read, we have the ability to expand our minds tremendously. We review the pages of knowledge left by those who came before us. We than begin to add to the knowledge as the cycle of humanity continue. The regular routine reading has positively chanced the course many peoples’ lives.

Finally, when we develop a practice a habit of reading, we are building solid foundation on which to build. This foundation of reading will allow us to carry out many goals and ambitions we have for our lives. Our habit of continuing to read helps to make sure we will continue to succeed. Reading has a long and distinguish track record for establishing positive and lasting benefits to humanity.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Daniel_Belcher

*****

Why Your Child Should Read for 20 minutes Every Day

“WHY CAN’T I SKIP MY 20 MINUTES OF READING TONIGHT?”

LET’S FIGURE IT OUT — MATHEMATICALLY!

Student A reads 20 minutes five nights of every week;
Student B reads only 4 minutes a night…or not at all!

Step 1: Multiply minutes a night x 5 times each week.
Student A reads 20 min. x 5 times a week = 100 mins./week
Student B reads 4 minutes x 5 times a week = 20 minutes

Step 2: Multiply minutes a week x 4 weeks each month.
Student A reads 400 minutes a month.
Student B reads 80 minutes a month.

Step 3: Multiply minutes a month x 9 months/school year
Student A reads 3600 min. in a school year.
Student B reads 720 min. in a school year.

Student A practices reading the equivalent of ten whole school days a year.
Student B gets the equivalent of only two school days of reading practice.

By the end of 6th grade if Student A and Student B keep up
these same reading habits,
Student A will have read the equivalent of 60 whole school days
Student B will have read the equivalent of only 12 school days.
One would expect the gap of information retained will have widened considerably and so, undoubtedly, will school performance. How do you think Student B will feel about him/herself as a student?

Some questions to ponder:

Which student would you expect to read better?

Which student would you expect to know more?

Which student would you expect to write better?

Which student would you expect to have a better vocabulary?

Which student would you expect to be more successful in school….and in life?

WHY READ 30 MINUTES A DAY?

*If daily reading begins in infancy, by the time the child is five years old, he or she has been fed roughly 900 hours of brain food!

*Reduce that experience to just 30 minutes a week, and the child’s hungry mind lose 770 hours of nursery rhymes, fairy tales, and stories.

*A kindergarten student who has not been read aloud to could enter school with less than 60 hours of literacy nutrition. No teacher, no matter how talented, can make up for those lost hours of mental nourishment.

*Therefore…30 minutes daily = 900 hours
30 minutes weekly = 130 hours
Less than 30 minutes weekly = 60 hours

Guess you now understand why reading daily is so very important. Why not have family night reading? It is great to just shut off the television for 20-30 minutes and read… and share.

(Source: U.S. Dept. of Education, America Reads Challenge. (1999) “Start Early, Finish Strong: How to Help Every Child Become a Reader.” Washington, D.C.

Written and compiled by : Sanaa 09/07/10

One Response

  1. San,

    Thank you.

    Buku kita ibarat “milik aku, milik kau”…tak kuasa nak minta berulang kali…..apa apa pun Kita ulat buku sampai ke tua agaknya….hehehhe

Leave a Reply

