• Thank you friends readers and passers-by for your continuous support to my blog. I will not be able to update often now and many articles and short story left hanging in the draft box due to the pressure of time lately but nevertheless I am trying to cope with it and will post few as time goes by.

    Pleasant day and have a good life.

    Love

    Sanaa

    Good things come to those who wait.
    Better things come to those who try.
    Best things come to those who believe.
    Desired things come to those who pray.

    "Islamic Thinking"

    A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.
    Lao Tzu

  • September 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Archives

A Child Game

Dear friends and readers,

It was a rainy day and it will never be possible for my nieces to play at the playground. Being their baby sitter for a day is a tiring job. They ask to many questions and they need attention at all time. I am not complaining but I would like to share.

They are 6 and 3 years old where their mind are very inquisitive at many things. Playing games, riding a bicycle, seeing a bird, working with papers and colour makes their mind wonders. When their mind wondering, they will have questions. Staying in the house with them running around can actually drive me crazy. Now I know why their mother want them in school. The half day of the morning will be very useful for mothers to do their own chores. I know they are loved by mommy and daddy but they are also handful.

I have to take them outside for a while, just give them the opportunity run around but again the weather stop us from going out. The porch is the furthest we can go. I had an idea by then. Playing paper mache will be a good exercise. There will be water, gum, paper, cut and paste. Not many school are doing it now. I’ve ask few of my friends about their child’s school activities. Of all in the list paper mache was not there. As far as I can remember paper mache was our art class activities and as far as “old” generation will remember paper mache.

So the activity started. I gave them a pail of water, shred the papers and soak it until is soften. Put their apron on everything look perfect. Both of them enjoy tearing the newspaper into small pieces and put it into the pail. It is not 100% paper mache but it’s serve the playing purposes. They need activity and by doing that they stimulate their mind. While waiting for the paper to soaked they talk to each other. They start imagining what to do and start asking questions about their project. I tag along in the conversation. It is an evening without Ipad, ipod or iphone. They know how to play games on these machines but they also loves to play outdoor.

While watching them doing their project my mind goes wondering about obese children all over the world and what technology has turn them into. Are they eating too much? Are they sitting too much? Or they are now not interested about birds, natures, playground and many more. I’ve witness parents bring along the ipad for their children to a birthday party and the small machine will keep them in place. No running, no nagging, no interactions no everything. The child will sit at one corner and pour all his energy to the screen. The games in the machine will shut the child from the rest of the world, I believe. That is children of today.

It is good or it is bad? I have no answer to it. But what I do know children are still children. They need space to run, to feel the breeze and sun on their skin, to hear the bird chirping, to feel the smooth of the grass on their feet and many more. I feel sorry for the children now days and I do think they feel sorry towards me too. They must be thinking I’m outdated but they do not realise how much they have miss being a child and conquer the outside world. Parents spend a lot of money on their education including of tuition fees, Quran reading, taekwando and other activities but parents forget that education is not just school, books and technology.

Do not blame your children if one day they grew up being a heartless human being and turn their back against you. They are what we make them into. I am not a mother but I care for my nieces and nephews. I’ve seen they grow up in front of me and I do see how their parents struggling to balance their life with the demand of today’s world and keeping the tradition and quality of family life.

Take them outside and let them see the world from their inquisitive mind. Answer their questions with most sincere heart. Tell them the beauty of life and embrace it while we have it. Prepare them for the challenge. Don’t ignore them because they are not a machine can be replace at any time. Don’t just take them to KFC, McDonald, Kenny Rogers but do take them to the park. Let them feel to be up in the air with the swing, climb the trees, ride the bicycle. Talk to them, read to them, listen to them because they will never stay as a child for long.

Love

Sanaa 25/09/11

*****

A Poem for Remembrance Day

“The inquisitive mind of a child”

poppyWhy are they selling poppies, Mummy?
Selling poppies in town today.
The poppies, child, are flowers of love.
For the men who marched away.

But why have they chosen a poppy, Mummy?
Why not a beautiful rose?
Because my child, men fought and died
In the fields where the poppies grow.

But why are the poppies so red, Mummy?
Why are the poppies so red?
Red is the colour of blood, my child.
The blood that our soldiers shed.

poppyThe heart of the poppy is black, Mummy.
Why does it have to be black?
Black, my child, is the symbol of grief.
For the men who never came back.

But why, Mummy are you crying so?
Your tears are giving you pain.
My tears are my fears for you my child.
For the world is forgetting again.

Author : Unknown

Leave a Reply

