• Thank you friends readers and passers-by for your continuous support to my blog. I will not be able to update often now and many articles and short story left hanging in the draft box due to the pressure of time lately but nevertheless I am trying to cope with it and will post few as time goes by.

    Pleasant day and have a good life.

    Love

    Sanaa

    Good things come to those who wait.
    Better things come to those who try.
    Best things come to those who believe.
    Desired things come to those who pray.

    "Islamic Thinking"

    A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.
    Lao Tzu

  • November 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

Words

Good Morning friends and readers,

It has been long I am trying to compile a poem about words and it kept on banging my head until last night I told myself I will search for any poem describing words which will sooth us, effect our emotions, encourage us and even may kill us with their sharpness.

I am also working on the 2 last episode of a short story which interrupted by changes of my daily schedules with work and family, where I find it hard to express the words so I will not see them as excuses. But again and again something deeper sip in which I am trying to forget; it is the sharpness and harshness of words and sentences throw at me through my life. After a long thought and silence, I thank those words because I am still here despite the less frequent post.

I am not a professional writer nor I’m a poet but I do love words, mainly because its boost my enthusiasm, spirit, energy and self-confidence. Words describe our feelings, interpretation, understanding and most importantly our behaviour. With same words but with different intonations and different situation can evoke anyone emotions. Because of that the advice given is be careful with words since once it spell out there is no way to erase them.

There are people saying reading takes you everywhere in this world of thoughts and imagination and with that I thank all writers around the globe, all poets, guru’s and sifu for leaving behind their wonderful creative writings.

Wishing all of you here a good day…take care

Love

Sanaa 05/11/13

*****

Video by : kramette11 via YouTube

Words to express and
Words to conceal.
To create a dream
Or describe the real.
Words to engage and
Words to reject.
To be in agreement
Or to curtly correct.
Words to make love and
Words to make war.
To hide what we know
Or share what we saw.
Words meant to sooth and
Words meant to fight.
To darken a day
Or lighten a night.

They’ve no life of their own
Or are worth e’en a cent,
But that which we give them
With certain intent.
To use them with care
With our own inner light
Whenever we use them
To speak or to write
Is a goal for all people,
But one hard to achieve
When internal impulses
Appear on our sleeve.

Words are forever and
Words can lost
They seems free
But can carry a cost.
Knowing and caring
Are two different things
As is being aware of
What words can bring.

Words can sing and
Words can cry
To express our deep feelings
Or reject and deny
How we use them
Defines our own way
To all those who read
Or hear what we say

From : Yahoo Voices

*****

Be careful of words
even the miraculous ones
For the miraculous we do our best
sometimes they swarm like insects
and leave not a sting but a kiss
They can be as good as fingers
They can be as trusty as the rock
you stick your bottom on
But they can be both daisies and bruises
Yet I am in love with words
They are doves falling out of the ceiling
They are six wholly oranges sitting in my lap
They are the trees, the legs of summer
and the sun, its passionate face
Yet often they fail me
I have so much I want to say
so many stories, images, proverbs, etc.
But the words aren’t good enough
the wrong ones kiss me
Sometimes I fly like an eagle
but with the wings of a wren
But I try to take care
and be gentle to them
Words and eggs must be handled with care
Once broken they are impossible
things to repair

Written by : Anne Sexton

*****

Out of us all
That make rhymes,
Will you choose
Sometimes –
As the winds use
A crack in the wall
Or a drain
Their joy or their pain
To whistle through
Choose me
You English words?

I know you
You are light as dreams
Tough as oak
Precious as gold
As poppies and corn
Or an old cloak
Sweet as our birds
To the ear
As the burnet rose
In the heat
Of Midsummer
Strange as the races
Of dead and unborn
Strange and sweet
Equally
And familiar
To the eye
As the dearest faces
That a man knows
And as lost homes are
But though older far
Than oldest you
As our hills are, old, –
Worn new
Again and again
Young as our streams
After rain
And as dear
As the earth which you prove
That we love.

Make me content
With some sweetness
From Wales
Whose nightingales
Have no wings
From Wiltshire and Kent
And Herefordshire
And the villages there
From the names, and the things
No less
Let me sometimes dance
With you
Or climb
Or stand perchance
In ecstasy
Fixed and free
In a rhyme
As poets do

Written by : Edward Thomas

Compiled by : Sanaa 06/11/13

Leave a Reply

